Society

1.3.21 Sara4526.jpg

In the age of Social Media,
How to sell beauty products

There are more and more hair brands in retail. What arguments can be put forward, how can we advise these products which often create a buzz on social networks, but which until then have had little presence in the selective circuit?
First, draw a parallel between skin care and hair products.
Creating a common axis between the skin and the hair is an often winning approach to interest the client in hair products. The importance of detailing the similarities between the skin and the scalp, such as pigmentation, microcirculation or cell renewal: just like the skin, the hair fiber is made up mainly of keratin and these are the same factors such as stress, fatigue , pollution or genetic aging which affects the beauty of the skin as well as that of the hair.

Read more

Should we always be sincere
with clients?

Photo Credit: Michael Stewart Moleski @stewdiospace

christina-wocintechchat-com-4PU-OC8sW98-

Photo Credit: Christina Wocinte

Is the truth always good to say? While some advisers do not hesitate to play the card of
sincerity, others are more reserved, depending on the client's profile and personality. Sincerity must
in any case always be clever and diplomatic, if you want to seduce and retain.

Analyze the client's profile
If sincerity is often perceived and defined as a quality, it is undeniable that it can also have
negative effects. This is particularly true in commerce and particularly in service trades which
affect the physical.

Read more

Understand what is hiding
behind racism

sheggeor-laker-a-8hu56I9OE-unsplash.jpg

Despite the past and present attempts of several associations, great men and women who have shared inspiring and motivating speeches in an attempt to reduce racism to nothing, we realize that it remains present in our societies. Why ? What is really behind racism?

The Larousse dictionary (like many others for that matter), always gives two definitions to racism. Racism is either the belief that there is a hierarchy between human groups, "races", which pushes racists to adopt behaviors inspired by this belief ... Either racism is defined as the attitude of systematic hostility to with regard to a specific category of persons. Because these two definitions exist, most "racists" do not consider themselves racist at all. in fact, the first definition will encompass people who, for example, once in front of a baker with black skin color, will speak slowly while saying "I want bread like that" while pointing at a wholemeal bread, because they think that since she has a different skin color than theirs, she should not speak the same language.

Read more

Photo Credit: Sheggeor Laker

The pride of African women
according to Véronique Diarra

Véronique_pro_1.JPG

Black Beautés : It is difficult for an African author to be published and to make himself known. What difficulties have you encountered?
Véronique Diarra : The difficulties of the African author to be published in this country and to be summed up in one word:

Discrimination

In the eyes of the publisher and the bookseller, in this country, the African author is considered "unsaleable" if he is neither famous in the Jet Set, nor winner of a high-sounding Literary Prize.

I did not have these privileges. From October 2014 I wandered from one edition to another with my first manuscript "Shuka the sacred dancer"

I contacted African, French, prestigious, lesser-known establishments ... without success.

I escaped rogue publishers who dangled an audience of passionate buyers ... for a "participation" of 3000 to 5000 euros.

In June 2017, I ended up receiving a proposal from the Harmattan in its "Encres Noires" collection. The contract requirements were specific, but I took the opportunity to finally be accepted into an edition in this country.

My first novel "Shuka the sacred dancer" was in my hands in November 2017.

But, repelled by the booksellers who declared my book unsaleable, I frequented literary salons.

One day, I met and sympathized with Madame Virginie Mouanda, a novelist like me. Tired of suffering the nuisances of publishers and booksellers in this country, she had created her own establishment a few months ago: Wawa éditions.

Since February 2018 I have been working with her in good conditions. "No I will not be silent anymore", June 2018; "Agnonlètè a life of Amazon", April 2019; "The last trip of King Aboubakry Kéïta", November 2019 are the fruits of our collaboration.

Read more

Sara Martin: “The landscape of French cinema,
doesn't resemble social life at all… ”

Sara Martins 2.jpg

The beautiful and talented actress Sara Martins playing this month in Michel Blanc's film "See how we dance", reveals the situation as a black actress in France today

What is your background ?

Initially, my first passion was classical dance, I was also at the Opéra de Lyon then, I turned to law studies. In high school, I began to follow the theater option for three years without wanting to make a career out of it.

I then had the chance to be engaged in a great play by Roger Planchon who is no longer in this world or every night on stage I quickly experienced the profession of actress within a troupe. . All of them also encouraged me to drop my law studies, something I did by attempting the competition for the National Conservatory of Dramatic Art in Paris while at the same time continuing my law studies by correspondence. I was trained, I had an agent and I gave up my studies for good. Even if my first intentions were the theater boards, it is true that ultimately it is the small screen that hired me and I am very happy.

In the book Noire is not my job, with the 15 other black actresses you denounce the racism and sexism that reign in the French film industry. Did you feel a change following this publication?

The black book is not my job was initiated by Aïssa Maïga who summoned actress friends who wanted to testify, write a text on an anecdote of their journey as a black woman in this profession of actress. The book was done very quickly, we each wrote our texts in 3, 4 days.

Read more

Do you know the woman of the trees?

Each month Black Beautés presents the different black women who have marked history and it is Wangari Muta Maathai, an extraordinary woman who inaugurates this section!

We call her woman of the trees, it is Wangari Muta Maathai, the first African woman in history to receive the Nobel Peace Prize for her ecological and political activism.

Born on April 1 in 1940 in Kenya, Wangari Muta Maathai did not have an easy childhood.

In fact, in her environment, little girls were rarely educated, but thanks to the determination of her parents, she went on to study. His intellectual vivacity was quickly noticed by the Catholic sisters who allowed him to go to study in the United States. A few years later, she would become the first woman in East Africa to earn a bachelor's degree in biology from Mount Saint Scholastica College in Atchison, Kansas.

Back home, with a specialization in biology, Wangari Maathai teaches zoology at the University of Nairobi. Wangari Muta Maathai is a relentless person and when she has an idea in her head she goes all the way.
Her love for ecology led her to create a movement called "The Green Belt Movement" in 1977. The latter would become popular when she decided to plant seven trees on Earth Day and invited Kenyans from all over the world. countries to do the same. This action will have made it possible to plant more than thirty million trees in sixteen years ...

Read more

Rungano Nyoni denounces the oppression of women on the screen with "I AM NOT A WITCH"

 

She was ready to mortgage her mother's house to make her first feature film “I AM NOT A WITCH” which was released in theaters on December 27th. We met for you the Zambian filmmaker Rungano Nyoni who tells us about this film, a comedy about a witch camp in Zambia which charmed the public and the critics at the Cannes Film Festival last May. Presented in the Directors' Fortnight, "I AM NOT A WITCH" ( "I'm not a witch") tells the story of a 9 year old daughter, Shula, sent to a camp witches because the accuses of being one. Interview with its director.

 

Black Beautés: How did you come up with the idea of making this film?

Rungano Nyoni: It's not just one particular idea, it came from a variety of things and it's really my grandmother's story that really inspired me. She was a very strong woman, who lived at the time when the British Empire dominated the country (Zambia) and this domination had very strict rules. My grandmother was very independent even financially, she had her land, her horses, tractors and a company to move food and horses between Zambia and Kenya. She was also a mechanic and repaired her own trucks. She wore pants when it was illegal for women and at a time when interracial relations were banned she met my grandfather who is Spanish and they got together. As this interracial relationship was prohibited, they were banned from staying in Zambia. Later she had a Dutch companion and she didn't care! I then asked myself, how was it that for her who had so many very strong rules that were imposed on her, it was no problem for her to break them while for people like me it is difficult to break rules that are unsaid. This idea started to obsess me and observing how society imposes said and unsaid rules on us and how complicated it is for us to break them led me to the idea of this witch. These are people who have forbidden a lot of things, they don't have the right to live with their own family… and these rules they sometimes have to know how to break them, that's why I used the character of the witch because it allowed me to deal with the subject ...

Read more

 

Who are these essential Africans?

Who are Africans, today essential actors of the changes in Africa?

Black Beautés was invited to the “African Women” conference on May 18 at the Dapper Museum where Ipsos conducted a large exclusive * survey in Sub-Saharan Africa (French and English speaking), to understand these women in their plurality. Ipsos unveiled the main results of the study. The conference presented by Florence de Bigault, Ipsos Francophone Africa Director, brought together experts and business decision-makers testifying to successful initiatives with African women.


Dynamic and optimistic.
The women of sub-Saharan Africa contribute to economic development and major societal changes in their respective countries. In certain sectors such as agriculture or local commerce, most of the economy is in their hands. According to the exclusive Ipsos study, 42% of African women have a regular job and 49% earn a living. They are also 35% to be single, a reality which mainly concerns the urban middle classes where young women want to study and work, before living as a couple.

Read more

You will also like:

PARLONS DOT

PARLONS DOT

Il y a des coutumes qui traversent les siècles ! Que ce soit en Afrique du Nord, du Sud de l'Est, du Centre ou de l'Ouest, la dot est encore souvent incontournable.

DIVAS AFRICAINES

DIVAS AFRICAINES

Elles sont belles, talentueuses, elles marqué l’histoire de la musique africaine. Découvrez ces divas qui demeurent à jamais des icônes légendaires !

DANS L'OMBRE

DANS L'OMBRE

Les figures de l’ombre françaises,  ces Noirs qui ont fait la France

Société

Comprendre ce qu’il se cache
derrière le racisme

sheggeor-laker-a-8hu56I9OE-unsplash.jpg

Malgré les tentatives passées et présentes de plusieurs associations, de grands Hommes et Femmes qui ont partagé des discours inspirants et motivants pour tenter de réduire le racisme à néant, on s’aperçoit qu’il reste présent dans nos sociétés. Pourquoi ? Qu’est-ce qu’il se cache vraiment derrière le racisme ?

Le dictionnaire Larousse (comme bien d’autres d’ailleurs), donne toujours deux définitions au racisme. Le racisme est soit la croyance qu'il existe une hiérarchie entre les groupes humains, les « races », ce qui pousse les racistes à adopter des comportements inspirés par cette croyance… Soit le racisme est défini comme l’attitude d'hostilité systématique à l'égard d'une catégorie déterminée de personnes. Parce que ces deux définitions existent, la plupart des « racistes » ne se considèrent pas du tout racistes. en effet, la première définition va englober des personnes qui, par exemple, une fois devant une boulangère ayant une couleur de peau noire, vont parler lentement en disant « Moi veux pain comme ça » en pointant du doigt un pain complet, parce qu’ils pensent que, comme elle a une couleur de peau différente de la leur, elle ne doit pas parler la même langue.

Lire la suite

Crédit Photo : Sheggeor Laker

La fierté de la femme africaine
selon Véronique Diarra

Véronique_pro_1.JPG

Black Beautés : Il est difficile pour un auteur africain d'être publié et de se faire connaitre. Quelles difficultés avez-vous rencontrées ?
Véronique Diarra : Les difficultés de l'auteur africain pour être publié dans ce pays et se faire se résument en un mot : 

Discrimination

Aux yeux de l'éditeur et du libraire, dans ce pays, l'auteur africain, est jugé "invendable" s'il n'est ni célèbre dans la Jet Set, ni Lauréat d'un Prix Littéraire ronflant.

Je n'avais pas ces privilèges. À partir d'octobre 2014 j'ai erré d'une édition à l'autre avec mon premier manuscrit."Shuka la danseuse sacrée"

 J'ai contacté des établissements africains, français, prestigieux, moins connus...sans succès.

 J'ai échappé à des éditeurs escrocs qui m'ont fait miroiter un public d'acheteurs passionnés... moyennant une "participation" de 3000 à 5000 euros.

 J'ai fini, en juin 2017, par recevoir une proposition de l'Harmattan dans sa collection "Encres Noires". Les exigences du contrat étaient particulières mais j'ai saisi l'opportunité d'être enfin acceptée dans une édition de ce pays.

Mon premier roman "Shuka la danseuse sacrée" s'est trouvé entre mes mains en novembre 2017.

 Mais, repoussée par les libraires qui déclaraient mon livre invendable, j’ai fréquenté les salons littéraires.

Un jour, j'ai rencontré et sympathisé avec madame Virginie Mouanda romancière comme moi. Lasse de subir les nuisances des éditeurs et libraires de ce pays, elle avait  créé depuis quelques mois son propre établissement : Wawa éditions.

Depuis février 2018 je travaille avec elle dans de bonnes conditions. "Non je ne me tairai plus", juin 2018 ;" Agnonlètè une vie d'Amazone", avril 2019; "Le dernier voyage du roi Aboubakry Kéïta", novembre 2019 sont les fruits de notre collaboration.

Lire la suite

Sara Martin : « Le paysage du cinéma français,
ne ressemble pas du tout à la vie sociale… »

Sara Martins 2.jpg

La belle et talentueuse actrice Sara Martins à l’affiche ce mois-ci dans le film de Michel Blanc « Voyez comme on danse », nous révèle la situation en tant qu’actrice noire en France aujourd’hui

Quel est votre parcours ?

Au départ, ma première passion était la danse classique, j'étais d'ailleurs à l'Opéra de Lyon puis, je me suis tournée vers les études de droit. Au lycée, je me suis mise à suivre l'option théâtre pendant trois ans sans vouloir en faire un métier.

J’ai eu ensuite la chance d'être engagée dans une grande pièce de théâtre de Roger Planchon qui n’est plus de ce monde ou tous les soirs sur scène j'ai vécu rapidement le métier d'actrice au sein d'une troupe. Tous m'ont d’ailleurs encouragé à laisser tomber mes études de droit, chose que j’ai faite en tentant le concours du conservatoire national supérieur d'art dramatique à Paris tout en continuant parallèlement mes études de droit par correspondance. J’ai été formée, j’ai eu un agent et j'ai abandonné définitivement mes études. Même si mes premières intentions étaient les planches de théâtre, c'est vrai que finalement c'est le petit écran qui m'a engagé et j'en suis très heureuse.

Dans le livre Noire n'est pas mon métier, avec les 15 autres actrices noires vous dénoncez le racisme et le sexisme qui règnent dans l'industrie du cinéma français. Avez ressenti un changement à la suite de cette parution ?

Le livre Noire n'est pas mon métier a été initié par Aïssa Maïga qui a convoqué des amies actrices qui souhaitaient témoigner, écrire un texte sur une anecdote de leur parcours en tant femme noire dans ce métier d'actrice. Le bouquin s’est fait très rapidement, on a écrit chacune en 3, 4 jours nos textes.

Lire la suite

Connaissez-vous la femme des arbres ?

Chaque mois Black Beautés vous présente les différentes femmes noires qui ont marqué l'histoire et c'est Wangari Muta Maathai une femme hors du commun qui inaugure cette rubrique !

On l'appelle femme des arbres, il s'agit de Wangari Muta Maathai, première femme africaine de l'histoire à recevoir le prix Nobel de la paix pour son militantisme écologique et politique.

Née le 1er avril en 1940 au Kenya, Wangari Muta Maathai n'a pas connu une enfance facile.

En effet, dans son environnement les petites filles étaient rarement scolarisées mais grâce à la détermination de ses parents, elle accède à des études. Sa vivacité intellectuelle est vite       remarquée par des sœurs catholiques qui lui    permettent d’aller étudier aux États-Unis. Quelques années plus tard, elle deviendra la première femme d’Afrique de l’est à obtenir une licence de biologie au Mount Saint Scholastica College à Atchison, dans le Kansas.

De retour au pays, avec en poche une spécialisation en biologie, Wangari Maathai enseigne la zoologie à l’Université de Nairobi. Wangari Muta Maathai est une acharnée et   quand elle a une idée dans la tête elle va jusqu'au bout.
Son amour pour l'écologie la     conduit à créer un mouvement nommé « La   ceinture verte » (Green Belt Movement) en 1977. Ce dernier deviendra populaire lorsqu’elle       décidera de planter sept arbres le jour de la terre et invitera les kenyanes de tout le pays à en faire de même. Cette action aura permis de planter plus de trente millions d’arbres en seize ans...

Lire la suite

Rungano Nyoni dénonce l'oppression des femmes à l’écran avec « I AM NOT A WITCH »

 

Elle était prête à hypothéquer la maison de sa mère pour réaliser son premier long-métrage « I AM NOT A WITCH » sorti en salle le 27 décembre dernier. Nous avons rencontré pour vous la cinéaste Zambienne Rungano Nyoni qui nous parle de ce film, une comédie sur un camp de sorcières en Zambie qui a charmé le public et les critiques au Festival de Cannes en mai dernier. Présenté dans la Quinzaine des réalisateurs, « I AM NOT A WITCH » ("Je ne suis pas une sorcière ") raconte l’histoire d’une fille de 9 ans, Shula, envoyée dans un camp de sorcières parce qu’on l’accuse d’en être une. Entretien avec sa réalisatrice.

 

Black Beautés : Comment vous ai venu l’idée de faire ce film ?
 

Rungano Nyoni : Ce n’est pas une seule idée particulière, c’est venu de choses variées et c’est vraiment l’histoire de ma grand-mère qui m’a beaucoup inspiré. C’était une femme très forte, qui a vécu à l’époque ou l’empire britannique dominait le pays (Zambie) et cette domination avait des règles très strictes. Ma grand-mère elle, était très indépendante même financièrement, elle avait sa terre, ses chevaux, des tracteurs et une compagnie pour déplacer des denrées et des chevaux entre la Zambie et le Kenya. Elle était aussi mécano et réparait ses propres camions. Elle portait des pantalons alors que c’était illégal pour les femmes et à une époque où les relations interraciales étaient interdites, elle a rencontré mon grand-père qui est espagnole et ils se sont mis ensemble. Comme cette relation interraciale était interdite, ils ont été interdits de séjour en Zambie. Plus tard, elle avait un compagnon hollandais et ça lui été totalement égal ! Je me suis alors demandée, comment ça se faisait que pour elle qui avait tellement de règles très fortes qui lui étaient imposées ça ne lui posait aucun problème de les briser alors que pour des personnes comme moi on a du mal à briser des règles qui sont non-dites. Cette idée a commencé à m’obséder et en observant comment la société nous impose des règles dites et non-dites et à quel point c’est compliqué pour nous de les briser, cela m’a conduit à l’idée de cette sorcière.  Ce sont des personnes à qui ont interdit beaucoup de choses, elles n’ont pas le droit d’habiter avec leur propre famille… et ces règles elles doivent parfois savoir les briser, voilà pourquoi j’ai utilisé le personnage de la sorcière parce que ça me permettait de traiter le sujet...

Lire la suite

 

Qui sont ces africaines incontournables ?

Qui sont les Africaines, aujourd’hui actrices incontournables des mutations de l’Afrique ?

Black Beautés a été invité à la conférence « Femmes Africaines » le 18 mai dernier au Musée Dapper où Ipsos a mené une grande enquête exclusive*en Afrique Subsaharienne (francophone et anglophone), pour comprendre ces femmes dans leur pluralité. Ipsos a dévoilé les principaux résultats de l’étude. La conférence présentée par Florence de Bigault, directrice Ipsos Afrique francophone, réunissait des experts et des décideurs d’entreprise témoignant d’initiatives réussies auprès des femmes africaines.


Dynamiques et optimistes.
Les femmes de l’Afrique   subsaharienne contribuent au    développement économique et aux grands changements sociétaux de leurs pays respectifs. Dans certains secteurs comme l’agriculture ou le commerce de proximité, la majeure partie de l’économie se trouve entre leurs mains. D’après l’étude exclusive Ipsos, 42 % des Africaines ont un travail régulier et 49 % gagnent leur vie. Elles sont également 35 % à être célibataires, une réalité qui concerne surtout les classes moyennes urbaines où les jeunes femmes tiennent à étudier et à travailler, avant de vivre en couple.

Lire la suite

Vous aimerez également :

PARLONS DOT

PARLONS DOT

Il y a des coutumes qui traversent les siècles ! Que ce soit en Afrique du Nord, du Sud de l'Est, du Centre ou de l'Ouest, la dot est encore souvent incontournable.

DIVAS AFRICAINES

DIVAS AFRICAINES

Elles sont belles, talentueuses, elles marqué l’histoire de la musique africaine. Découvrez ces divas qui demeurent à jamais des icônes légendaires !

DANS L'OMBRE

DANS L'OMBRE

Les figures de l’ombre françaises,  ces Noirs qui ont fait la France