French shadow figures,
these blacks who made France

In France, there are very few black men who are considered major figures in our official history with the exception of Aimé Césaire or Félix Eboué. Who remembers the first black deputy in France Blaise Diagne or even Gaston Gerville-Réache, in 1904, the vice-president of the Chamber of Deputies? Who also remembers Battling Siki, a great French boxer of Senegalese origin who knocked out Georges Carpentier and who became world champion in 1922?

Severiano from Heredia
“The black mayor” of Paris, deputy, minister of public works.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Severiano de Heredia was Minister of Public Works and President of the Council of Paris under the 3rd Republic. He was denigrated for his
alive and erased from memories upon his death. Indeed this black man fought among other things to reduce the working day in the factory to
ten hours for children under twelve. He spoke out against General Boulanger and intervened in the passage of laws on the Paris metropolitan network.

Severiano de Hérédia was elected municipal councilor of the Ternes district in 1873, then president of the Paris council in 1879 and deputy
of the Seine in 1881. In 1887, he became the Black Prime Minister of Public Works. A ministry of full power in the Rouvier government.

And yet, it remains unrecognized, not to say unknown. His name does not appear on the list of personalities buried in the Parisian cemetery
des Batignolles where it rests, nor in current popular dictionaries and encyclopedias. No trace of his name in today's Paris
or elsewhere in France. He has never been decorated with the Legion of Honor even though he is the creator of the municipal libraries in Paris and, following Victor Hugo and Jules Ferry, president of the Philotechnique association. This great republican classified in the cemetery of oblivion is one of those blacks who made France.

Paul Strade, professor at the University of Paris VIII, edited a book "Sévériano de Hérédia: this Cuban mulatto that Paris made mayor and the Republic minister", prefaced by the 1st black deputy of the capital, Georges Pau-Langevin. In this book the author has gone through the archives
of the Paris police, the National Library, the Grand Orient of France, as well as the Cuban archives in order to restore history.
He explains to us “In France, only the archivist of the Grand Orient de France had noticed his flashy name and his eminent rank within the Masonic hierarchy. But he didn't know he was black. "

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Blaise Diagne
the first African deputy

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Blaise Diagne is a French politician, born October 13, 1872 in Gorée (Four municipalities) in Senegal and died May 11, 1934 in Cambo-les-Bains (Pyrénées-Atlantiques) in France. He is the first African deputy elected to the French Chamber of Deputies. Indeed, until that date, the previous black deputies in the parliament of France were from the French colonies in the Americas. He is also the first African Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies. A fervent assimilationist, he owes his fame to his desire to fully involve
Africans to French policy both during the establishment of colonial structures and once they are installed. He also played an important role in favor of the rights of Africans engaged in colonial troops.

Blaise Diagne entered this colonial administration in 1892, he was first appointed in:
- 1892 in Dahomey (now Benin);
- 1897 in the French Congo;
- 1898 in Reunion;
- 1902 in Madagascar, the last post where his advanced opinions displeased Gallieni;
- 1910, Blaise Diagne is sent to Guyana where his links with the governor are facilitated by his membership in the Grand Orient de France.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Kofi Yamgnane
"Successful integration"

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Kofi Yamgnane is a Franco-Togolese politician, born October 11, 1945 in Bassar, Togo. He is Secretary of State for Integration
to the Minister of Social Affairs and Integration from 1991 to 1993, regional councilor for Brittany from 1992 to 1997 and socialist deputy for Finistère during the 11th legislature from 1997 to 2002. In 1975, he obtained French nationality and has since held this year dual nationality (French and Togolese).

On March 20, 1989, he was elected mayor of Saint-Coulitz. That year, France celebrates the 200 years of its Revolution, it is in search of symbols, Kofi becomes that of “successful integration”, elected by a population one hundred percent white (except Kofi Yamgnane himself). A year later, he was named "Breton of the Year" by Armor Magazine and the following year, he was appointed Secretary of State in the government of Edith Cresson, then in 1992 in the Bérégovoy government. In 1994, he became general councilor of Finistère then in 1997, he was elected deputy, a seat that he did not find in 2002. In 2001, he was reelected general councilor of Finistère and became vice-president of the Departmental Assembly, in charge of policies some water.

On January 20, 2008, Brice Hortefeux, Minister of Immigration, Integration, National Identity and Codevelopment, announced the creation of a commission responsible for reflecting on the constitutional questions posed by the quota policy. immigrants and of which Kofi Yamgnane would be a member

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it in the first place where you are at the moment when it comes to your visit to the city center, where you can find out more about the business, and you will be able to find out more about this online shopping cart now and then again you will be able to find out more about this online shopping cart now !. in the same category as you can see, it will be the first thing to do this ?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Camille Mortenol
The man who foiled the air strikes

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Camille Mortenol a Guadeloupe commander in the defense of Paris. At 55, he was chosen by General Gallieni, military governor of Paris, to assist him in the defense of the French capital. Gallieni had been able to appreciate the dedication of Mortenol when they served together in Madagascar.

He was appointed director of the maritime aviation service of the entrenched camp in Paris. He has the responsibility of defending Paris against attacks from enemy aircraft. With the help of an intelligence service and enormous night searchlights, in particular that of the fort of Mont-Valérien which dominates the capital, he thwarts the air attacks. A mission that he accomplished with success and which earned him the promotion of reserve artillery colonel in 1917, then commander of the Legion of Honor.

We therefore remember that France was one of the most advanced countries in the world in terms of diversity, of course, but today this question of diversity is not resolved ...

In the end, it is as if the presence of these great black men made no sense in the grand national narrative and that each generation removed them from the narrative of the previous generation.

Today, seeing black people in the France team or presenting a TV show does not really pose a problem, but a black person as Prime Minister or even president, that's another story! And yet it was easier for a black person to be elected mayor of a French city in the 1930s than today.

Why ? First of all, there were far fewer blacks in France and their presence was considered temporary. The French have therefore minimized the fact that a whole generation will continue to be born and become French citizens. That's why no one took them into account. France created a mixed republic before everyone else, then she was afraid and the issue of social violence in the suburbs did not help matters ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it in the first place where you are at the moment when it comes to your visit to the city center, where you can find out more about the business, and you will be able to find out more about this online shopping cart now and then again you will be able to find out more about this online shopping cart now !. in the same category as you can see, it will be the first thing to do this ?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Les figures de l’ombre françaises, 
ces Noirs qui ont fait la France

En France, il y a très peu d’hommes noirs qui sont considérés comme des figures majeures de notre histoire officielle à l’exception d’Aimé Césaire ou encore Félix Eboué. Qui se souvient du premier député noir en france Blaise Diagne ou encore de Gaston Gerville-Réache, en 1904, le vice-président de la Chambre des députés ? Qui se souvient également de Battling Siki, grand boxeur français d’origine sénégalaise qui a mis K.O Georges Carpentier et qui est devenu champion du monde en 1922 ?

 

Severiano de Hérédia
« Le maire noir » de Paris, député, ministre des travaux publics.

Severiano de Heredia a été ministre des Travaux publics et président du conseil de Paris sous la 3ème République. Il a été dénigré de son
vivant et effacé des mémoires dès sa mort. En effet cet homme noir a lutté entre autres pour réduire la journée de travail en usine à
dix heures pour les enfants de moins de douze ans. Il se prononça contre le général Boulanger et a intervenu dans le vote des lois sur le réseau métropolitain de Paris.

 

Severiano de Hérédia a été élu conseiller municipal du quartier des Ternes en 1873, puis président du conseil de Paris en 1879 et député
de la Seine en 1881. Il devient en 1887 le premier ministre noir des Travaux publics. Un ministère de plein pouvoir dans le gouvernement Rouvier.

Et pourtant, il reste méconnu pour ne pas dire inconnu. Son nom ne figure pas sur la liste des personnalités enterrées au cimetière parisien
des Batignolles où il repose, ni dans les dictionnaires et encyclopédies populaires actuelles. Aucune trace de son nom dans le Paris d’aujourd’hui
ou ailleurs en France. Il n’a d’ailleurs jamais été décoré de la légion d’Honneur alors même qu’il est le créateur des bibliothèques municipales à Paris et, à la suite de Victor Hugo et Jules Ferry, président de l’association Philotechnique. Ce grand républicain classé au cimetière des oubliettes fait partie de ces Noirs qui ont fait la France. 

 

Paul Strade, professeur de l’université de Paris VIII, a édité un livre « Sévériano de Hérédia : ce mulâtre cubain que Paris fit maire et la République ministre », préfacé par la 1ère députée noire de la capitale, Georges Pau-Langevin. Dans ce livre l’auteur a épluché les archives
de la police de Paris, de la Bibliothèque nationale, du Grand orient de France, ainsi que les archives cubaines afin de rétablir l’histoire.
Il nous explique « En France, seul l’archiviste du Grand orient de France avait remarqué son nom clinquant et son rang éminent au sein de la hiérarchie maçonnique. Mais il ne s’avait pas qu’il était noir. »

 

Blaise Diagne
le premier député africain

Blaise Diagne est un homme politique français, né le 13 octobre 1872 à Gorée (Quatre communes) au Sénégal et mort le 11 mai 1934 à Cambo-les-Bains (Pyrénées-Atlantiques) en France. Il est le premier député africain élu à la Chambre des députés française. En effet, jusqu’à cette date, les précédents députés noirs au parlement de la France étaient originaires des colonies françaises des Amériques. Il est également le premier Africain sous-secrétaire d’État aux Colonies. Fervent assimilationniste, il doit sa renommée à sa volonté de faire participer pleinement les
Africains à la politique française aussi bien durant la mise en place des structures coloniales qu’une fois ces dernières installées. Il a également joué un rôle important en faveur des droits des Africains engagés dans les troupes coloniales. 

 

Blaise Diagne est entré dans cette administration coloniale en 1892, il est d’abord nommé en :
- 1892 au Dahomey (actuel Bénin) ;
- 1897 au Congo français ;
- 1898 à La Réunion ;
- 1902 à Madagascar, dernier poste où ses opinions avancées déplaisent à Gallieni ;
- 1910, Blaise Diagne est envoyé en Guyane où ses liens avec le gouverneur sont facilités par son appartenance au Grand Orient de France.

 

 

Kofi Yamgnane
« l’intégration réussie »

Kofi Yamgnane est un homme politique franco- togolais, né le 11 octobre 1945 à Bassar au Togo. Il est secrétaire d’État chargé de l’Intégration
auprès du ministre des Affaires sociales et de l’Intégration de 1991 à 1993, conseiller régional de Bretagne de 1992 à 1997 et député socialiste du Finistère lors de la XIe législature de 1997 à 2002. En 1975, il obtient la nationalité française et possède depuis cette année la double nationalité (française et togolaise).

 

Le 20 mars 1989, Il est élu maire de Saint-Coulitz. Cette année-là, la France fête les 200 ans de sa Révolution, elle est en quête de symboles, Kofi devient celui de « l’intégration réussie », élu par une population cent pour cent blanche (excepté Kofi Yamgnane lui-même). Un an plus tard, il est désigné « Breton de l’année » par Armor Magazine et l’année suivante, il est nommé secrétaire d’État dans le gouvernement d’Édith Cresson, puis en 1992 dans le gouvernement Bérégovoy. En 1994, il devient conseiller général du Finistère puis en 1997, il est élu député, siège qu’il ne retrouve pas en 2002. En 2001, il est réélu conseiller général du Finistère et devient viceprésident de l’Assemblée départementale, chargé des politiques de l’eau.
 

Le 20 janvier 2008, Brice Hortefeux, ministre de l’Immigration, de l’Intégration, de l’Identité nationale et du Codéveloppement, annonce la création d’une commission chargée de réfléchir sur les questions constitutionnelles posées par la politique des quotas d’immigrés et dont Kofi Yamgnane serait membre

Camille Mortenol
L’homme qui a déjoué les attaques aériennes

Camille Mortenol un commandant guadeloupéen à la défense de Paris. A 55 ans, il est choisi par le général Gallieni, gouverneur militaire de Paris, pour le seconder dans la défense de la capitale française. Gallieni avait pu apprécier le dévouement de Mortenol quand ils servaient ensemble à Madagascar.  

 

Il est nommé directeur du service d’aviation maritime du camp retranché de Paris. Il a la responsabilité de défendre Paris contre les attaques de l’aviation ennemie. Avec l’aide d’un service de renseignement et d’énormes projecteurs de nuit, en particulier celui du fort du Mont-Valérien qui domine la capitale, il déjoue les attaques aériennes. Une mission qu’il accomplit avec succès et qui lui vaudra d’être promu colonel d’artillerie de réserve en 1917, puis commandeur de la Légion d’honneur. 

 

On retient donc que la France fut l’un des pays du monde les plus avancés en termes de diversité certes, mais aujourd’hui cette question de la diversité n’est pas réglée...

Finalement, c’est comme si la présence de ces grands hommes noirs n’avait aucun sens dans le grand récit national et que chaque génération les évacuait du récit de la génération précédente.

 

Aujourd’hui voir des noirs dans l’équipe de France ou présenter une émission de télé ne pose pas vraiment de problème mais un noir en tant que 1er ministre ou encore président ça c’est une autre histoire ! Et pourtant il était plus facile pour un noir de se faire élire maire d’une ville française dans les années 1930 qu’aujourd’hui.

 

Pourquoi ? Il y avait tout d’abord beaucoup moins de noirs en France et leur présence était considérée comme temporaire. Les français ont donc minimisé le fait que toute une génération continuera à naitre et deviendra citoyens français. Voilà pourquoi personne ne les a pris en compte. La France a créé une république métissée avant tout le monde, puis elle a eu peur et la question de la violence sociale dans les banlieues n’a pas arrangé les choses...