African divas: they marked us

They are beautiful, talented, they marked the history of African music. Discover these divas who will forever remain legendary icons!

South Africa : Miriam Makeba

Nicknamed Mama Africa, she is a woman who remains a true African legend!

South African ethno-jazz singer and political activist, she was naturalized Guinean in the 1960s, Algerian in 1972, then a French honorary citizen in 1990.
In 1956, she wrote her greatest success, the song Pata, Pata , with which she toured the world (it will for example be covered in French by Sylvie Vartan under the title Tape Tape in 1980).
Miriam will not stop making anti-apartheid speeches and calling for a boycott of South Africa at the United Nations.
She sings in Zulu, Xhosa, Tswana, Swahili and Arabic ( Ana hourra fi aljazaier during the 1978 African Games in Algiers, Algeria) ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Congo DRC :   Abéti Massikini (1954-1994)
She is a Congolese singer who enjoyed phenomenal success in the 1970s thanks to her very eclectic musical style tinged with various trends such as Congolese rumba, blues, soul, folk, and soukouss. Abéti represents the emancipation of Congolese and African women in the world of song. She was the first woman in her country to establish herself professionally in the Congolese musical world dominated exclusively by men. On June 19, 1974 , Abeti performed at Carnegie Hall in New York , United States and wowed audiences. His career is on the rise. In October 1974, she shared the stage with James Brown (1933-2006), Myriam Makeba (1932-2008), Tabu Ley (1940-2013) and Franco (1937-1989) at the opening show of the famous fight Mohamed Ali and George Foreman in Kinshasa.

Ivory Coast : Aicha Koné

Influenced by the South African Miriam Makeba, whom she met during her Guinean exile, and challenged by the mandolins of Nana Mouskouri and the guitars of Enrico Macias with oriental accents which reminds her of Mandingo music, Aicha Koné released her first 45 Denikeleni tours in 1979 is a huge success ...

Togo: Bella Bellow

A great voice of African music of the 60s and 70s Bella Bellow marked legendary venues, including the Olympia in Paris, the Maracaña stadium in Brazil sold out in front of more than 100,000 spectators. Endowed with a natural voice, Bella Bellow knew how to sing at the same time the joy, the love, the sadness. At only 27 years old, the pioneer of modern Togolese song died on December 10, 1973 in an accident.

Mali: Oumou Sangare

She was born in Bamako, Mali in 1969. Although she has a superstar status in her country, Oumou Sangare never forgets where she comes from, nor the virtues of a modest origin. In October 2003 she was appointed Ambassador of the FAO (United Nations Food Organization), a role within the framework of the fight against hunger in the world. She also plays an active role in the Association of Mothers and Children of Mali, which organizes distributions of millet, milk and rice to mothers in need.
She believes in the duty of those born lucky to provide for the needs of the less well off.

Cape Verde: Césario Evora

Nicknamed the "Barefoot Diva" (Diva dos pés descalços) , Césario Evora owes it to his habit of performing barefoot on stage.

Divas africaines : elles nous ont marqué

Elles sont belles, talentueuses, elles marqué l’histoire de la musique africaine. Découvrez ces divas qui demeurent à jamais des icônes légendaires !
 

Afrique du Sud Miriam Makeba

Surnommée Mama Africa , c'est une femme demeure une vraie légende africaine !

Chanteuse sud-africaine d'ethno-jazz et militante politique, elle est naturalisée guinéenne dans les années 1960, algérienne en 1972, puis citoyenne d'honneur française en 1990.
En 1956, elle écrit son plus grand succès, la chanson Pata, Pata, avec laquelle elle fait le tour du monde (elle sera par exemple reprise en français par Sylvie Vartan sous le titre Tape Tape en 1980).
Miriam ne cessera de prononcer des discours anti-apartheid et d’appeler au boycott de l’Afrique du Sud devant les Nations Unies.
Elle chante en zoulou, en xhosa, en tswana, en swahili et en arabe (Ana hourra fi aljazaier pendant les Jeux africains de 1978 à Alger en Algérie)...

Congo RDC : Abéti Massikini (1954-1994)
C'est une chanteuse congolaise qui a connu un succès phénoménal dans les années 70 grâce à son style musical très éclectique teinté de diverses tendances telles que la rumba congolaise, le blues, la soul, le folk, et le soukouss. Abéti représente l’émancipation de la femme congolaise et africaine dans l'univers de la chanson. Elle a été la première femme de son pays à s'imposer professionnellement dans le monde musical congolais dominé exclusivement par des hommes. Le 19 juin 1974, Abeti se produit au Carnegie Hall de New York aux États-Unis et séduit les spectateurs. Sa carrière est en pleine ascension. En octobre 1974, elle partage la scène avec James Brown (1933-2006), Myriam Makeba (1932-2008), Tabu Ley (1940-2013) et Franco (1937-1989) au spectacle d'ouverture du fameux combat Mohamed Ali et George Foreman à Kinshasa.

 

Côte d’IvoireAicha Koné

Influencée par la Sud africaine Miriam Makeba, qu’elle rencontrera durant son exil guinéen, et interpellée par les mandolines de Nana Mouskouri et les guitares d’Enrico Macias aux accents d’Orient qui lui rappelle la musique mandingue, Aicha Koné sort son premier 45 tours Denikeleni en 1979 c'est un immense succès...
 

 

Togo : Bella Bellow

Grande voix de la musique africaine des années 60 et 70 Bella Bellow a marqué des salles mythiques, notamment l’Olympia de Paris , le stade de Maracaña du Brésil à guichets fermés devant plus de 100.000 spectateurs. Dotée d’une voix naturelle, Bella Bellow savait chanter à la fois la joie, l’amour, la tristesse. A seulement 27 ans La pionnière de la chanson togolaise moderne est morte le 10 décembre 1973 dans un accident.
 

Mali : Oumou Sangare

Elle est née à Bamako au Mali en 1969. Bien qu'elle ait un statut de superstar dans son pays, Oumou Sangare n'oublie jamais d'où elle vient, ni les vertus d'une origine modeste. En octobre 2003 elle a été nommée Ambassadrice de la FAO (Organisation des Nations-Unies pourl ’Alimentation), une charge entrant dans le cadre de la lutte contre la faim dans le monde. Elle joue également un rôle actif dans l'Association des Mères et Enfants du Mali, qui organise des distributions de millet, de lait et de riz aux mères dans le besoin.
Elle croit au devoir de ceux qui sont nés chanceux de subvenir aux besoins des moins bien lotis.

 

Cap vert: Césario Evora

Surnommée la "Diva aux pieds nus"  (Diva dos pés descalços), Césario Evora le doit à son habitude à se produire pieds nus sur scène.