Only 19 black legends

Anna Wintour fashion editor at Vogue magazine will revolutionize the magazine and publish, for the first issue under her responsibility, a cover with a black model.
“It made noise! »She specifies.

Indeed since the creation of the famous Vogue magazine in 1892 only 19 black women have made the cover: Beverly Johnson, Peggy Dillard, Sheila Johnson, Shari Belafonte Harper, Louise Vyent, Kara Young, Karen Alexander, Naomi Campbell, Kiara Kabukuru, Oprah, Marion Jones, Halle Berry, Liya Kebede, Jennifer Hudson, Michelle Obama, Rihanna, Lupita Nyong'o, Serena Williams and Beyoncé

Admittedly, they are not numerous but have known how to attract the attention of the whole world by their beauty, commitment, talent ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Anna Wintour explains: "The color of a model's skin dramatically affects sales. This is why it is rare to see a colored model on the cover of Vogue, which does not prevent d 'have some in the pages of our issues.
They appear less above than inside. Many of us would like to see more black models on the cover. ”It is for this reason that in 1997, Anna Wintour decided to highlight Kiara Kabukuru in order to change mentalities.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Who is Kiara Kabukuru?

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

This 40-year-old Ugandan left her country with her parents at the age of 6 to live in Los Angeles. As a teenager, Kiara began a career as a model which looked pretty good.

She notices the difficulty of succeeding being black and declares: "the models are also the indicators of the ethnic tendencies of the company, of the world in general ..." But thanks to her character which is to never give up, she succeeds to obtain several contracts.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In 1997, it is the consecration! Kiara is on the cover of Vogue USA for July.
The world of fashion finally recognizes her as a personality in her own right.
Although it is true that it is rare to see a black model on the cover of a major international magazine, Kiara Kabukuru would eventually become a model in high demand. She posed for the advertising campaigns of many couturiers like Gucci, Chanel, Calvin Klein….

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

She has now become legendary as one of the 19 black women who appeared on the cover of a famous magazine.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Read the magazine version

Anna Wintour rédactrice mode chez Vogue magazine va révolutionner le magazine et publie, pour le premier numéro sous sa responsabilité une couverture avec un mannequin noir.
« Ça a fait du bruit ! » précise-t-elle.

En effet depuis la création du célèbre magazine Vogue en 1892 seulement 19 femmes noires ont fait la couverture : Beverly Johnson, Peggy Dillard, Sheila Johnson, Shari Belafonte Harper, Louise Vyent, Kara Young, Karen Alexander, Naomi Campbell, Kiara Kabukuru, Oprah, Marion Jones, Halle Berry, Liya Kebede, Jennifer Hudson, Michelle Obama, Rihanna, Lupita Nyong'o, Serena Williams et Beyoncé

Certes, elles ne sont pas nombreuses mais ont su attirer l’attention du monde entier par leur beauté, engagement, talent…

Anna Wintour, s'en explique : "la couleur de peau d'un modèle affecte dramatiquement les ventes. C'est pour cela qu'il est rare de voir en couverture de Vogue un modèle de couleur, ce qui n'empêche pas d'en avoir dans les pages de nos numéros.
Elles apparaissent moins dessus que dedans. Beaucoup d'entre nous aimeraient voir plus de modèles noirs en couverture". C'est pour cette raison qu'en 1997, Anna Wintour décide de mettre en avant Kiara Kabukuru afin de faire changer les mentalités.

Qui est Kiara Kabukuru ?

Cette ougandaise de  40 ans a quitté son pays avec  ses parents à l’âge de 6 ans pour aller vivre à Los-Angeles. Adolescente, Kiara entame une carrière de modèle qui s’annonce plutôt bien.          

Elle remarque la difficulté de réussir en étant noire et déclare : « les mannequins sont aussi les indicateurs des tendances ethniques de la société, du monde en général... » Mais grâce à son caractère qui est de ne jamais baisser les bras, elle parvient à obtenir plusieurs contrats.

En 1997, c’est la consécration !  Kiara fait la couverture du Vogue USA du mois de juillet.        
Le milieu de la mode la reconnaît enfin comme une personnalité à part entière.
Même s’il est vrai qu’il est rare de voir en couverture d’un grand magazine international un mannequin noir, Kiara Kabukuru deviendra par la suite un mannequin très demandé. Elle a posé pour les campagnes publicitaires de nombreux couturiers comme Gucci, Chanel, Calvin Klein….

Elle est désormais entrée dans la légende en faisant partie de ces 19 femmes noires qui ont figuré en couverture d’un célèbre magazine.

Lire la version magazine

 

Seulement 19 légendes noires